Albanian Parliament approves new ministers

Albanian parliament approved Thursday four new ministers in a session boycotted by the opposition parties which continue their protest in request of a caretaker government to take the country to elections.

Ruling coalition parties, the Socialist Party and Socialist Movement for Integration voted for Fatmir Xhafaj to replace Saimir Tahiri at the post of Interior Minister; Olta Xhaçka to replace Blendi Klosi at the Minister of Youth and Social Welfare; Ogerta Manastirliu to replace Ilir Beqja as Health Minister and Eduart Shalsi to replace Bledi Cuci at the post of Minister of State for Local Government.

Albanian Prime Minister Edi Rama has said he was reshuffling the cabinet to give more time for former ministers, who lead the Socialist Party in Albanian regions, to prepare and campaign for the upcoming general elections to be held on June 18.

The Democratic Party led opposition parties are protesting at the main boulevard in front of the Prime Ministry building since Feb. 18. They have said the boycott of the parliament will continues until Prime Minister Rama resigns in favor of a caretaking government to guarantee free and fair elections./

0 Komente